top of page

Fundamental Physics

of Ferroelectrics

and related materials 


An annual series of workshops starting in 1990
Over the past 30 years this workshop has evolved into one of the world's leading forums on the physics of ferroelectricity and related phenomenon, where the best researchers from around the world gather to share and debate cutting edge developments in the field of ferroelectrics and related materials, both experimental and theoretical.  This workshop series has played a significant role in fostering multi-institutional collaborations on research devoted to understanding the fundamental physics of these complex and versatile materials.
Jan 26- 29, 2020
  • Twitter Basic Black
A workshop that brings together an international and interdisciplinary team of theorists and experimentalists

The 2020 "Fundamental Physics of Ferroelectrics Workshop,” is the 31st in the series of workshops that has gathered the world’s leading theorists and experimentalists working in the field of ferroelectrics and related materials every year since 1990. This year we meet in Silver Spring, Maryland, USA, just north of the border with Washington, D.C., at the Silver Spring Civic Building at Veterans Plaza in downtown Silver Spring.  The meeting includes two and a half days of oral sessions, a poster session, and a banquet. 

Important Deadlines

Abstracts           December 1, 2019

Lodging              December 1, 2019

Registration       December 1, 2019

January 26 - 29, 2020
Silver Spring, MD USA

Invited Speakers

Nicole Benedek – Cornell University

Long-Qing Chen – Pennsylvania State University

Ankit Disa – Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter

Vincent Garcia – Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales

Sinéad Griffin – Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Megan Holtz – National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jorge Iñiguez – Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology

Shuai-Hua Ji  - Tsinghua University

Jason Kawasaki – University of Wisconsin, Madison

Igor Levin – National Institute of Standards and Technology

Lane Martin – University of California, Berkeley

Joel Moore – University of California, Berkeley

Sabine Neumayer – Oak Ridge National Lab

Jun Ouyang – Shandong University

Andrew Rappe – University of Pennsylvania

Raffaele Resta – Istituto Officina dei Materiali, CNR (Trieste)

Ekhard Salje - University of Cambridge, UK

Uwe Schroeder - NAMLAB, Dresden. DE

David Sherrington - University of Oxford, UK

Alessandro Stroppa -  CNR-SPIN L'Aquila, IT

Organizing Committee



Ronald Cohen                         

Geophysical Laboratory

Carnegie Institution of Washington

5251 Broad Branch Rd., N.W.

Washington, DC  20015  USA


Peter Gehring
NIST Center for Neutron Research National Institute of Standards and Technology
100 Bureau Drive Gaithersburg, MD 20899 USA

Cyrus E. Dreyer
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3800

Petro Maksymovich

Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Oak Ridge, TN 37831 USA

Beth Nowadnick

Department of Physics
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Newark, NJ USA


to the 2019 Student/Postdoc

Presentation Award


Thank you to our SPONSORS!

bottom of page